• Almost American Girl: An Illustrated Memoir

    Almost American Girl: An Illustrated Memoir

    Ha, Robin

    "A powerful and moving teen graphic novel memoir about immigration, belonging, and how arts can save a life--perfect for fans of American Born Chinese and Hey, Kiddo. For as long as she can remember, it's been Robin and her mom against the world. Growing up as the only child of a single mother in Seoul, Korea, wasn't always easy, but it has bonded them fiercely together. So when a vacation to visit friends in Huntsville, Alabama, unexpectedly becomes a permanent relocation--following her mother's announcement that she's getting married--Robin is devastated. Overnight, her life changes. She is dropped into a new school where she doesn't understand the language and struggles to keep up. She is completely cut off from her friends in Seoul and has no access to her beloved comics. At home, she doesn't fit in with her new stepfamily, and worst of all, she is furious with the one person she is closest to--her mother. Then one day Robin's mother enrolls her in a local comic drawing class, which opens the window to a future Robin could never have imagined"--Amazon.com.

    Format: Graphic Novel

    Availability: All copies in use

    View Almost American Girl: An Illustrated Memoir
  • Understanding Comics: The Invisible Art

    Understanding Comics: The Invisible Art

    McCloud, Scott

    "You must read this book." --Neil Gaiman The bestselling international classic on storytelling and visual communication. Praised throughout the cartoon industry by such luminaries as Art Spiegelman, Matt Groening, and Will Eisner, Scott McCloud's Understanding Comics is a seminal examination of comics art: its rich history, surprising technical components, and major cultural significance. Explore the secret world between the panels, through the lines, and within the hidden symbols of a powerful but misunderstood art form. (syndetics)

    Format: Book

    Availability: All copies in use

    View Understanding Comics: The Invisible Art
  • Human Body Theater: A Nonfiction Revue

    Human Body Theater: A Nonfiction Revue

    Wicks, Maris

    "Welcome to the Human Body Theater, where your master of ceremonies is going to lead you through a theatrical revue of each and every biological system of the human body! Starting out as a skeleton, the MC puts on a new layer of her costume (her body) with each "act." By turns goofy and intensely informative, the Human Body Theater is always accessible and always entertaining." --

    Format: Graphic Novel

    Availability: All copies in use

    View Human Body Theater: A Nonfiction Revue
  • The Legend of Zelda: Hyrule Historia

    The Legend of Zelda: Hyrule Historia

    Gives historical information on The Legend of Zelda franchise, including the history of Hyrule and the official chronology of the games.

    Format: Book

    Availability: All copies in use

    View The Legend of Zelda: Hyrule Historia
  • It's Trevor Noah: Born A Crime : Stories From A South African Childhood : Adapted for Young Readers

    It's Trevor Noah: Born A Crime : Stories From A South African Childhood : Adapted for Young Readers

    Noah, Trevor

    The comedian traces his coming of age during the twilight of apartheid in South Africa and the tumultuous days of freedom that followed, offering insight into the farcical aspects of the political and social systems of today's world.

    Format: Book

    Availability: All copies in use

    View It's Trevor Noah: Born A Crime : Stories From A South African Childhood : Adapted for Young Readers
  • The Cat I Never Named: A True Story of Love, War, and Survival

    The Cat I Never Named: A True Story of Love, War, and Survival

    Sabic-El-Rayess, Amra

    In Bihac, Bosnia, in 1992, sixteen-year-old Amra and her family face starvation and the threat of brutal ethnic violence as Serbs and Bosnians clash, while a stray cat, Maci, provides solace.

    Format: Book

    Availability: All copies in use

    View The Cat I Never Named: A True Story of Love, War, and Survival
  • Blue Chip Kids: What Every Child (and Parent) Should Know About Money, Investing, and the Stock Market

    Blue Chip Kids: What Every Child (and Parent) Should Know About Money, Investing, and the Stock Market

    Bianchi, David W.

    The essential guide to being smart about money and investing Blue Chip Kids: What Every Child (and Parent) Should Know About Money, Investing, and the Stock Market is a fun and easy-to-understand introduction to the world of money and investing for kids and parents. Frustrated by the lack of entertaining financial teaching materials for his 13-year-old son, this book is the result of a father's commitment to pass on one of life's most important skills. Written by David W. Bianchi--an investor and lawyer with an economics degree from Tufts University--this hands-on resource demystifies the basic principles about money matters and shows what it takes to spend, save, and invest wisely. Filled with simple examples and numerous illustrations, this easy-to-read book discusses money and investing in 100 bite-size topics. For every parent who wants their children to develop the skills to invest wisely and become responsible money managers, regular savers, and to earn money while they sleep, this book is a must-have. (syndetics)

    Format: Book

    Availability: All copies in use

    View Blue Chip Kids: What Every Child (and Parent) Should Know About Money, Investing, and the Stock Market
  • Stamped: Racism, Antiracism, and You : A Remix of the National Book Award-winning Stamped From the Beginning

    Stamped: Racism, Antiracism, and You : A Remix of the National Book Award-winning Stamped From the Beginning

    Reynolds, Jason

    "The construct of race has always been used to gain and keep power, to create dynamics that separate and silence. Racist ideas are woven into the fabric of this country, and the first step to building an antiracist America is acknowledging America's racist past and present. This book takes you on that journey, showing how racist ideas started and were spread, and how they can be discredited"--Dust jacket flap.

    Format: Book

    Availability: Available

    View Stamped: Racism, Antiracism, and You : A Remix of the National Book Award-winning Stamped From the Beginning
  • Poems to See by: A Comic Artist Interprets Great Poetry

    Poems to See by: A Comic Artist Interprets Great Poetry

    "A fresh twist on 24 classics, these visual interpretations by comic artist Julian Peters will change the way you see the world"--

    Format: Graphic Novel

    Availability: All copies in use

    View Poems to See by: A Comic Artist Interprets Great Poetry
  • Apple: Skin to the Core : A Memoir in Words and Pictures

    Apple: Skin to the Core : A Memoir in Words and Pictures

    Gansworth, Eric

    "The term "Apple" is a slur in Native communities across the country. It's for someone supposedly "red on the outside, white on the inside." Eric Gansworth is telling his story in Apple (Skin to the Core). The story of his family, of Onondaga among Tuscaroras, of Native folks everywhere. From the horrible legacy of the government boarding schools, to a boy watching his siblings leave and return and leave again, to a young man fighting to be an artist who balances multiple worlds. Eric shatters that slur and reclaims it in verse and prose and imagery that truly lives up to the word heartbreaking." -- Inside front jacket flap. (4/18/2021 5:32:31 PM)

    Format: Book

    Availability: All copies in use

    View Apple: Skin to the Core : A Memoir in Words and Pictures