• Field Trip Fiasco

    Field Trip Fiasco

    Patterson, James

    Things have quieted down for lovable troublemaker Rafe Khatchadorian, and after all the mishaps and adventures he's been through, he's feeling a little restless. So when he's invited to attend an all-expenses-paid art field trip in California, Rafe jumps at the opportunity. But things go sideways, as they always do for Rafe, when he arrives and realizes his trip isn't the Hollywood vacation he thought it would be. Instead, he'll be participating in a 'Cultural Campout' in the desert. What follows is a series of unfortunate events that only Rafe could find himself in, including an encounter with a cranky crocodile, a claustrophobic trip into an ancient cave, and a set of ancient cave paintings that may or may not have been faked. To make matters worse, Rafe finds himself smack dab in the middle of a plot to smuggle a legendary missing diamond. Has he finally stumbled his way into an adventure he can't get himself out of?

    Format: Audiobook CD

    Availability: Available

    View Field Trip Fiasco
  • Amari and the Night Brothers

    Amari and the Night Brothers

    Alston, B. B.

    Amari has never stopped believing her missing brother, Quinton, is alive. Not even when the police told her otherwise, or when she got in trouble for standing up to bullies who said he was gone for good. So when she finds a ticking briefcase in his closet, containing a nomination for a summer tryout at the Bureau of Supernatural Affairs, she's certain the secretive organization holds the key to locating Quinton, if only she can wrap her head around the idea of supernatural creatures all being real. Now she must compete for a spot against kids who've known about magic their whole lives. No matter how hard she tries, Amari can't seem to escape their intense doubt and scrutiny, especially once her supernaturally enhanced talent is deemed 'illegal.' With an evil magician threatening the supernatural world, and her own classmates thinking she's an enemy, Amari has never felt more alone. But if she doesn't stick it out and pass the tryouts, she may never find out what happened to Quinton.

    Format: Audiobook CD

    Availability: Available

    View Amari and the Night Brothers
  • The Ickabog

    The Ickabog

    Rowling, J. K.

    The kingdom of Cornucopia was once the happiest in the world. It had plenty of gold, a king with the finest moustache one could possibly imagine, and butchers, bakers, and cheesemongers whose exquisite foods made a person dance with delight when they ate them. Everything was perfect , except for the misty Marshlands to the north, which, according to legend, were home to the monstrous Ickabog. Anyone sensible knew that the Ickabog was just a myth to scare children into behaving. But the funny thing about myths is that sometimes they take on a life of their own. Could a myth unseat a beloved king? Could a myth bring a once happy country to its knees? Could a myth thrust two children into an adventure they didn't ask for and never expected?

    Format: Audiobook CD

    Availability: All copies in use

    View The Ickabog
  • Shaking up the House

    Shaking up the House

    Méndez, Yamile Saied

    A friendly prank war at the White House spirals out of control in this hilarious and heartfelt middle grade written by acclaimed author Yamile Saied Mu00e9ndez and perfect for fans of President of the Whole Fifth Grade and Merci Surez Changes Gears. Ingrid and Winnie Lu00f3pez have lived at 1600 Pennsylvania Avenue for eight years, but their friends Skylar and Zora Williams, the new first daughters, are about to move into the White House with their mom, the president-elect. But when the four girls get wrapped up in a long-standing White House tradition of practical jokes, will their battle go down in American history and ruin their friendship forever?

    Format: Audiobook CD

    Availability: Available

    View Shaking up the House
  • Unplugged

    Unplugged

    Korman, Gordon

    As the son of the world's most famous tech billionaire, spoiled Jett Baranov has always gotten what he wanted. So when his father's private jet drops him in the middle of a place called the Oasis, Jett can't believe it. He's forced to hand over his cell phone, eat grainy veggie patties, and participate in wholesome activities with the other kids whom he has absolutely no interest in hanging out with. As the weeks go on, Jett starts to get used to the unplugged life and even bonds with the other kids over their discovery of a baby-lizard-turned-pet, Needles. But he can't help noticing that the adults at the Oasis are acting really strange. Could it be all those suspicious "meditation" sessions? Jett is determined to get to the bottom of things, but can he convince the other kids that he is no longer just a spoiled brat making trouble?

    Format: Audiobook CD

    Availability: Available

    View Unplugged
  • Sentinels in the Deep Ocean

    Sentinels in the Deep Ocean

    Hinojosa, Stacy

    After barely surviving the harsh tundra biome, Stacy has finally discovered the origins of the intelligent, playful wolves who have raised her. But will Stacy be able to decode a mysterious diary that may hold the keys to her future in the taiga? As she races against time to uncover the secrets buried within the diary's pages, Stacy and her pack set out on a new thrilling adventure across biomes. Will they beat the clock and make it to the farthest reaches of their world: the deep ocean? As they dive deeper into the unknown, Stacy and the wolves learn that the deep ocean may hold the biggest secret yet. Stacy's wolves might not be as alone in this world as they once thought.

    Format: Audiobook CD

    Availability: Available

    View Sentinels in the Deep Ocean
  • Red, White, and Whole

    Red, White, and Whole

    LaRocca, Rajani

    A heartbreakingly hopeful #ownvoices novel in verse about an Indian American girl whose life is turned upside down when her mother is diagnosed with leukemia. Reha feels torn between two worlds: school, where she's the only Indian American student, and home, with her family's traditions and holidays. But Reha's parents don't understand why she's conflicted, they only notice when Reha doesn't meet their strict expectations. Reha feels disconnected from her mother, or Amma, although their names are linked, Reha means "star" and Punam means "moon", but they are a universe apart. Then Reha finds out that her Amma is sick. Really sick. Reha, who dreams of becoming a doctor even though she can't stomach the sight of blood, is determined to make her Amma well again. She'll be the perfect daughter, if it means saving her Amma's life.

    Format: Audiobook CD

    Availability: Available

    View Red, White, and Whole
  • Root Magic

    Root Magic

    Royce, Eden

    It's 1963, and things are changing for Jezebel Turner. Her beloved grandmother has just passed away. The local police deputy won't stop harassing her family. With school integration arriving in South Carolina, Jez and her twin brother, Jay, are about to begin the school year with a bunch of new kids. But the biggest change comes when Jez and Jay turn eleven, and their uncle, Doc, tells them he's going to train them in rootwork. Jez and Jay have always been fascinated by the African American folk magic that has been the legacy of their family for generations, especially the curious potions and powders Doc and Gran would make for the people on their island. But Jez soon finds out that her family's true power goes far beyond small charms and elixirs, and not a moment too soon. Because when evil both natural and supernatural comes to show itself in town, it's going to take every bit of the magic she has inside her to see her through.

    Format: Audiobook CD

    Availability: Available

    View Root Magic
  • Bump

    Bump

    Wallace, Matt

    MJ knows what it means to hurt. Bruises from gymnastics heal, but big hurts, like her dad not being around anymore, don't go away. Now her mom needs to work two jobs, and MJ doesn't have friends at school to lean on. There is only one thing MJ loves: the world of professional wrestling. She especially idolizes the luchadores and the stories they tell in the ring. When MJ learns that her neighbor, Mr. Arellano, runs a wrestling school, she has a new mission in life: join the school, train hard, and become a wrestler. But trouble lies ahead. After wrestling in a showcase event, MJ attracts the attention of Mr. Arellano's enemy at the State Athletic Commission. There are threats to shut the school down, putting MJ's new home and the community that welcomed her at risk. What can MJ do to save her new family?

    Format: Audiobook CD

    Availability: Available

    View Bump
  • Ancestor Approved: Intertribal Stories for Kids

    Ancestor Approved: Intertribal Stories for Kids

    Smith, Cynthia Leitich

    A collection of intersecting stories set at a powwow that bursts with hope, joy, resilience, the strength of community, and Native pride. In a high school gym full of color and song, Native families from Nations within the borders of the US and Canada dance, sell beadwork and books, and celebrate friendship and heritage. They are the heroes of their own stories. (4/18/2021 5:04:16 PM)

    Format: Audiobook CD

    Availability: Available

    View Ancestor Approved: Intertribal Stories for Kids